The Company We Keep

The company we keep is all in my head
it’s safer that way
Given what gets said
Sometimes it’s laughter
and sometimes it’s not
Banter and chatter
it’s all what we thought

The company we keep is all in my head
it’s safer that way
That’s what she said
Sometimes it’s laughter
and sometimes it’s not
A complex disaster
Of emotions and thought

The company we keep is all in my head
Alone in a crowd
A feeling of dread
We look in the mirror
They’re laughing at me
The picture is clearer
It’s only one we can see

The company we keep is all in my head
Strike up the band
It’s a long road ahead
Let’s all sing along
Thou we can’t hear a note
The noise is too strong
Don’t touch the remote

The company we keep is all in my head
It’s standing room only
says the sign overhead
We ask them to stop
and they laugh at me more
Climb up to the to top
We know we can soar

The company I keep is all in my head
it’s safer that way
Given what gets said
Sometimes it’s laughter
and sometimes it’s not
Banter and chatter
it’s all what I thought

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The Company We Keep

  1. like dr seuess after a few glasses of good scotch

Leave a Reply

