Oh Deer

A pozitoodinally spectacular morning here in the Happy Valley.  A bit cool and breezy, however, the trending is for it to continue to get warmer as the week goes along.

From my key vantage point on the couch there doesn’t appear to be a cloud in the sky and that big ol’ sun is doing everything in its power to inch the thermometer up over the freezing mark.

As the snow melts it reveals the volume of yard work that needs to get done this spring.  I abhor raking, however, I find myself looking forward to being able to do it this spring.  Maybe it’s the understanding that in a month or so I should be able to stand on two legs and with that comes a level of physical independence I haven’t had in a while.

Yikes,  in a million years I would have never associated raking with physical independence but as I sit on my couch and look at the leaves strewn about the yard…..wow….as I was typing and looking at the leaves in the backyard a huge deer just ran by.  Fucking cool.  Wait, here comes another and another.  That makes three.  Amazing how that mathematics thing comes in handy.  Nature rocks.

Where was I , oh yeah, looking forward to being able to rake leaves and do yard work.  Hold on, there is yet another deer.  That makes four.  Simply awesome.

So as you make your way through today I thought i share this quote with you.  I may have already done so in an earlier blog, but I cannot remember.  Getting old it tough.

Thoreau said, ” live each season as it passes; breathe the air, drink the water, taste the fruit and resign yourself to the influences of each.”

Today seems like a good day to put into practive what H.D. was talking about.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Oh Deer

  1. Meredith

    I love that idea of ‘resigning yourself’ to simple pleasures. When we relax into the moment, we can get a taste of that elusive peace-of-mind.

  2. I like my peace-of-mind with bernaise sauce

  3. Meredith

    OK, bernaise sauce, but on the side!

Leave a Reply

