Groovy

It’s been two weeks since my last post and it feels like two centuries.  

The leg continues to mend, I think.  I am getting around more, albeit not getting around better. 

We need to start using the word Groovy again.  Don’t ask where that came from, it is a very pozitoodinally correct word.  Say it with me, “groovy.”

I’ve decided the healing process is just that, a process.  It doesn’t happen quick and other than keeping the leg up, eating right and not trying to push it too hard I am not sure what else I can do to expedite the process. 

Without any pain medication I have been able to begin reading.  I just finished a wonderful book by Erica Bauermeister which is titled, “The School of Essential Ingredients.”  What a delightful read.  It gave me plenty to think about both from a restaurant and life perspective.   Thanks to Mom for sending it to me.  Thanks Mom!

The best thing about my injury is it has forced me to slow down.  Actually, stop would be a more appropriate description.  I am beginning to think that I am lucky in that most of us never get the opportunity to slow down, never mind stop.  When was the last time you really had a chance to “enjoy the moment.”  You know that – take a deep breathe of the world around you and just do nothing.  You should try it, even if it’s for a minute.

Part of our challenge is that we are all so “plugged in” these daze.  I am wondering if Timothy Leary was alive today his quote would be, “Turn on, Plug in, Drop out.” 

Online there are hundreds of accounts of people going “technology free” for 24 hours.  I think that is pretty cool.  Do you think you could do that?  No cell phone, no laptop, no PC, no television, no IPOD, no IPhone, no satellite radio, no technology for a day.

Think the world would end?  I think not.   

A day of no phone vibrating or ringing in your pocket.  A day of no self-imposed sonic cocoon created by a digital media player tucked in your pocket and plastic thingees in your ear.  What would be funny would be if you were listening to, “The 59th Street Bridge Song,” by Simon and Garfunkel.  For those to young to remember the lyrics they are below:

Slow down, you move too fast.
You got to make the morning last.
Just kicking down the cobble stones.
Looking for fun and feelin’ groovy.
Hello lamppost,
What cha knowing?
I’ve come to watch your flowers growing.
Ain’t cha got no rhymes for me?
Doot-in’ doo-doo,
Feelin’ groovy.

Got no deeds to do,
No promises to keep.
I’m dappled and drowsy and ready to sleep.
Let the morning time drop all its petals on me.
Life, I love you,
All is groovy.

Yep, all is groovy.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

