About Me

Like many blog hosting sites, WordPress  provides the blogger with a page in which one can add some information about themselves.  Tell the folks out there in blog land about “me.” Hi folks, this is me!

To tell you the truth, I’ve been staring at this damn blank “about me” page for over a year.  Every-time I try to write something on it I end up deleting the entry and exiting the page.     

After a hundred failed attempts to include any information about me on this blog I came to the realization that it’s not about me.  It’s about you.  Well, sort of.  In a voyeuristic way I get true enjoyment out of sharing my thoughts and insights with you.  You may agree or disagree, I don’t care.  I only care that you have an opinion.  Don’t get me wrong, the cathartic experience of writing and getting these thoughts out of my head is good for me.  No, it’s great for me.  Keeps me sane….or something close to sane.  What is the saying….sanity is in the eye of the beholder.  Hehehehe

I’ve never been very comfortable talking about me.  Unless of course its when I am making fun of myself.

For example:

In 1996 we were having a huge 3 day party celebrating the fourth of July.  To be honest, it wasn’t so much about the fourth of July, it was more about 3 days of beer drinking, firework shooting and pool floating fun.

I am not clear as to when I actually made the decision to shave my head, however at some point I was motivated to go upstairs to the bathroom and shave the nappy, short fur off my noggin.  Thinking back on it, I am not sure I was motivated to do this or it was simply the fact that the beer had broken down that last “vanity barrier.”  Note:  I was sporting one of those “in denial” buzz cuts so my hair was very short already.

So I head downstairs, back to the party sporting my new look.

Boy was I devastated.  After an hour of chillin with my new doo no one, yes no one, had noticed I had shaved my head.  There were only a couple conclusions I could draw:

a.  Everyone was so drunk they didn’t notice (not likely)

b.  There wasn’t that much hair to begin with so no one noticed….(most likely)

At the time there were not a lot of us around.  You know, shaved head, goatee (have to have some hair on my face to prove I can still grow it).  Little did I know that in a few short years there would be legions of dudes with shaved heads and goatees.  AHHHHHH.

I remember the first time I walked into an airport terminal and realized how many of “us” are out there.  Scary.  The one thing I would say to all these guys – if I had hair to grow, I would grow it.  I had and continue to have no interest in tending to some random patch of fur on my head just to say I have hair.

Not sure what that hair story was about….strange….

I’ll leave you with a great quote from Jim Morrison, yes, he of the band The Doors.

“I think of myself as an intelligent, sensitive human being with a soul of a clown which always forces me to blow it at the most important moments.”

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “About Me

  1. efenz

    See November 2007 achive “Urban Hair” at efenz.wordpress.com for reference to this very subject. And yes, we were probably too drunk or merely amazed at how your back hair had seemed to grow thicker that very afternoon… we knew SOMEthing was different…

Leave a Reply

