Cast a Wide Beam – Let your Light Shine Bright

A pozitoodinally righteous start to March!  Yippee!  Fire up that pozitood amplitude and ride the wave.  Set it on HIGH!!!

Sweet Jeebus!  The sun is staying out longer and feeding us that Vitamin D we need and I actually heard birds singing this morning.  Actually, I am not sure what they were doing, however, it sounded to me like singing.  I am sure if I stayed at the Dove for another 4 or 5 beers yesterday the singing would have sounded like Heckle and Jeckle with chainsaws.

Heckle and Jeckle, damn that dates me.  For those of you who don’t remember black and white televisions, Heckle and Jeckle were a pair of mischievous, cartoon, talking Magpies. 

The other day I was in the Pozitood Playhouse and noticed that the reading on the national pozitood meter was very low.  Not quite as low as Dubbya and Dick’s approval rating, but it’s still low.  I am not sure if it’s anything in particular or its everything.  The negativity was then reinforced as I drove around the Happy Valley and saw more road rage type incidents than I had in over a year…..Mr. Dodge Nitro (I bet he had a small weenie – hence the Nitro).  Maybe it’s the economy or maybe the presidential elections.   

Anyone else tired of negative campaign advertisements?  I am curious as to whether they really work.

I look at negative advertising the same way I look at the person who is always the first one to identify a problem yet never provides a solution.  Nope, they’re more interested in pointing fingers rather than pointing to solutions.

Years ago I was getting ready for what I knew was going to be a contentious meeting.  I knew the players and I knew that there was the potential for significant finger pointing at the meeting.  I was concerned that it would be so bad that we’d make no progress towards our goals and I came up with a very funny and effective idea.

I started the meeting by handing out bags to the eight people in the meeting.  I instructed them that before the meeting could begin they had to open the bags and put on what was in the bag.  The look on their faces was priceless.

They each opened their bag and took out a pair of mittens.  Soon everyone had their mittens on when someone asked me what was the purpose of the mittens.

As I spoke I made sure I looked around the room and made eye contact with each person.  I told them that the only way we were going to meet the goals and expectations set for us was to work together as a team and in my opinion the best way to do that was to have an open and honest meeting in which no one pointed a finger at anyone.

The only way I could guarantee that there was no finger pointing was to cover their fingers – hence the mittens.

We all laughed about it, however, the point was made and we moved forward and had a great meeting.  Bastards kept the damn mittens too.

Over the years I ‘ve used a myriad of props for meetings.  Funny hats was a good one.  Musical instruments was another.  Nothing funnier than watching a group of technology folks trying to play kazoo’s to the Beatles, “Yellow Submarine.”  Priceless.

Back to my point….I am the king of tangents….

With the pozitood level low we – you and I – need to crank up our pozitood amplitude.  We need to be those lighthouses of love!

Let your light shine bright!  Cast a wide beam and illuminate everyone it touches!

Cheers – Vernal Equinox is only 16 days, 10 hours and 31 minutes away.  Yee Ha!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Cast a Wide Beam – Let your Light Shine Bright

  1. Kathy

    This article just made my day, my week and my year!! I would love for you to come and do a traing for my group!!!

    Absolutely fabulous!!

  2. Miss Vivi

    I totally agree with Kathy. More pozitood needs to be spread around. Why not add a Pozitood Board (thought of the week) at your eateries……make ’em think! You got a gift here…….

Leave a Reply

