Don’t Pee on the man

Zippity doo da, zippity ay….. 

Saw a great band over the weekend at the Mt. Snow Brew fest.  The band Entrain rocked the house.  They can be found at entrain.com.  Loads of fun with a great, pozitoodinal vibe.

The beer was flowing freely and at one point I had to answer natures call.  So into the restroom I went.  The restroom was filled with beerfest attendees all doing the same thing…..so being who I am I thought it appropriate to shout out, “Hey is that Senator Craig in that stall?”  The place broke up.  Guys were pissing on their shoes they were laughing so hard….hehehehehehe.  I love messin’ with folks….

I wore my Gathering of the Vibes t-shirt to the beerfest and was overwhelmed by the number of folks who came up to me to say they were there and how great it was.  Maybe next year they should call it Gathering of the Pozitoodinal Vibes….

Back to the beer…..lots and lots of beer.  Highlights included beer from Dogfish Head, Smuttynose, Orlio, Brooklyn, Otter Creek and Long Trail.  As Ben Franklin once said, “beer is living proof that god loves us and wants us to be happy.” 

Sort of explains why Ben was out in the thunderstorm with the kite and key thing….crazy bastard was hammered!

In looking up that beer quote I did find another interesting and chilling quote from Ben:

“Any society that would give up a little liberty to gain a little security will deserve neither and lose both.”

I must have read that quote fifty times since finding it and each time it gives me the chills.  I think about the “homeland security act” and what liberties we’ve lost in the name of “security.”

Now I am not saying I want to run out and perform acts of terrorism (shit the man is gonna read this and hunt me down like a dick cheney hunting partner) I just want to ensure that the liberties I may take in my pursuit of happiness are not threatened.

I know, I know, don’t say it……if you are not hiding anything then you have nothing to be afraid of.  Bullshit, tell that to the thousands of Muslims that were subject to loss of liberty based on prejudice after 9/11 just because of their ethnic or religious backround.  We are a country filled with enough people who don’t know any better.  People, who if we are subject again to any type of terrorist activity will be calling for curfews, illegal searches and illegal imprisonment of anyone they fear.    Shit, we are a country in which almost 50% of the people voting, voted, yes voted for Dubbya. 

Not sure how the hell I got on this tangent but I’ll leave you with  a quote from Woodrow Wilson of all people,

“Liberty has never come from the government.  Liberty has always come from the subjects of it.  The history of liberty is a history of resistance.”

So next time you have that beer, raise it high and toast liberty and our pursuit of happiness.  For once, not too long ago, the liberty to have and raise that beer was taken away from us…..

Cheers 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

