Duck, duck, goose

J&D – Thanks for the party, as always it was fun, good food, good people, good weather, good nite….nothing better than an intimate gathering for 12,000 people.  Word to the wise – jalapenos are always hotter the next day…if you know what I mean….

Throwing a party is like owning a swimming pool.   The maintenance and upkeep of the facility and people far outweigh the joy have having either…..it’s downright exhausting and heck I didn’t do anything except show up and then I got to leave…..phew

So boys and girls let’s fire up those synapses…it’s a new week and thinking is our top priority.

Robert Pirsig, author of the book “Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance” provides the following quote.  It made me think the past couple days and I feel the need to share with you…

Even in the presence of others he was completely alone 

Amen.  I am sure we’ve all felt that way at one time or another.  Heck, sometimes even by choice.  I know that there are times when, after a long day, I can find perfect solitude in a crowd.  All the talking and noise forms sort of a white noise din that is comforting, almost hypnotic.  

However, there are moments, even in the perfect stillness of a quiet summer evening, that the noises created by your thoughts of the day rain down a cacophony of sound that no one can hear except yourself.  It’s these moments that test the strength of even the strongest level of positude. 

When the noise grows loud and seems overwhelming here are a couple positudinal hints for y’all:

  1. Don’t take yourself or anyone else to seriously
  2. Go outside, breathe a book, read the air, look at the wind, listen to the sky
  3. If it already happened, you can’t change it. Move on and learn from it.
  4. If it hasn’t happened don’t worry about it, cuz it ain’t happened yet and the last time I checked you don’t have ESP or the ability to see into the future.  (Note: if you do have ESP or the ability to see into the future please send me the winning lottery numbers.)   
  5. Embrace today – live it large   
  6. Share the love, make someone else feel special today – give positude

 You have the power – MAKE IT HAPPEN!

Those who dream by day are cognizant of many things that escape those who dream only at night 

A great quote from Poe.  This is one of those self help moments for me.  Yep, even I am working on my positude today.  

Dreams are a needed retreat from the day to day reality that keeps us anchored to our world.  I am a dreamer, probably to a fault.  But you know what, I ain’t gonna change.  I am a great example of too much dreaming and not enough action.  That in my mind is my personal challenge, the juxtaposition of my mind….

The fear of making a dream not come true by acting on it. 

Wow, I said it (actually I wrote it but said it in my mind).  I wonder how many of us have ever had this same moment of self realization. 

Today that changes. 

As Mark Twain once wrote, “Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do.  So throw off the bowlines.  Sail away from the safe harbor.  Catch the trade winds in your sails.  Explore.  Dream.  Discover.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Duck, duck, goose

  1. Ellen Fenner

    What, then, is the change?

  2. Peace is the change. I really think it; there is no more war between nations, religions or factions. There is only war. Stinky ass loads of war. Shit this is really World War 3. The Big Bullet; no way to dodge it.

    Tell you what I think about World War 3: It is between War & Peace. There is war. There could be peace. If peace prevails so do we; we get to live. If war kicks peace’s ass we’re in deep shit — but what the hell?

    I’m a big time daredevil as well as an incorrigible dreamer. So I’m off — to scheme up a loophole to benefit the great cause of peace.

    Thanks for the best post I’ve read in weeks!

Leave a Reply

